View Full Version : Malicious Code Targeting Social Networking Site Users


Latino44
03-04-2009, 04:02 PM
Public reports of malicious code spreading via popular social networking sites including myspace.com, facebook.com, hi5.com, friendster.com, myyearbook.com, bebo.com, and livejournal.com. The reports indicate that the malware, named Koobface, is spreading through invitations from a user's contact that include a link to view a video. If the users click on the link in this invitation, they are prompted to update Adobe Flash Player. This update is not a legitimate Adobe Flash Player update, it is malicious code.

Additionally, some of the reports indicate that there are multiple bogus Facebook applications being used to obtain users' private information.

users and administrators should do the following to help mitigate the risks:

* Install antivirus software and keep the virus signature files up to date.
* Do not follow unsolicited links.
* Use caution when downloading and installing applications.
* Obtain software applications and updates directly from the vendor's website.
* Refer to the Staying Safe on Social Networking Sites document for more information on safe use of social networking sites.
* Refer to the Avoiding Social Engineering and Phishing Attacks document for more information on social engineering attacks.
:sleep:

keith1612
03-04-2009, 04:04 PM
thank you for the heads up bud :thmbup:

viruscauser
03-04-2009, 04:21 PM
What are the ill effects of this code? I mean how would I know if I've been hit too?

1munchie
03-04-2009, 07:17 PM
hxxp://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/koobface.asp
It's real and here is more info.

gEaRhEaDz
03-04-2009, 07:19 PM
thanks man :v: